I’m In An Existential Mood

I love contemplating depth. Any depth really. The depth of life, death, love, happiness, faith. What does it all mean? I have been contemplating existence today with the thought of an age old philosophical inquiry. “If a tree falls in the woods, and no one is there to hear it, does it make a sound?” Logically, I would think, yes. However, this made me ponder the question of existence because I thought, if I am person that no one ever meets, do I exist? Doesn’t existence essentially mean that others “see” us? I wonder if the reason the question regarding the tree falling is not the logic of the sound it does or does not make, but more of its existence. I think we exist to connect. Without connection, we seem to fade into despair. And it is in that despair that we cry out – with no sound.

“The proof that the little prince existed is that he was charming, that he laughed, and that he was looking for a sheep. If anybody wants a sheep, that is proof that he exists.” – Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

“There are three deaths. The first is when the body ceases to function. The second is when the body is consigned to the grave. The third is that moment, sometime in the future, when your name is spoken for the last time.” – David Eagleman.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑